Criteria for Scholarship Applicants

The Women Scholarship for Peace: Global South is an initiative coordinated by the UN Office for Disarmament Affaires at Vienna in partnership with 26 organisations whose work contribute to disarmament and non-proliferation and development-related issues. A total of 140 scholarships are made available to facilitate participation of women from the Global South at the training courses. A scholarship includes:

  1. Registration fee for the 2 months online and 1 week in person training course.
  2. Travel costs from the country of residence to the in-person training course location in economy class fare.
  3. Daily subsistence allowance for 1 week.


22-32 at the time of application




Nationals of the following countries and territories holding a valid passport are eligible

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte D'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Niué, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)


Only candidates residing in their country of eligible nationality at the time of application will be considered.


The training courses will be conducted in English only.


A university degree or equivalent qualifications (which could for example be constituted of a degree obtained with minimum 2 years of higher education, combined with relevant professional experience).

Selection process

All applicants are required to fill in the online application form. Further information will be required at a later stage by the Selection Committee. Priority will be given to nationals from Official Development Assistance recipient countries and territories, as defined by the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development. Selected participants will be informed in January 2017 and will be requested to confirm their participation within 2 working days.

Application deadline

Sunday 11 December 2016, 12pm (CET)
Incomplete applications and applications received after the deadline will not be considered.